Skip to content

I Thank my Lucky Stars (Original Poem)

January 21, 2017

 

 

Written by @Linzo

The louder you sang, the warmer I felt

For somewhere within, I felt your touch

Of a soul so far, yet so near

Beyond the boundaries of my body’s prison

The gates were open, I ceased to live

The norm I knew, that kept me at bay

For the hunger was greater than;

any praise of man

In time I felt, I had to die

To live a life of sober mind

To journey’s end with a guiding light

That fed the music that lit the soul

A cry of hope is all I needed

In hunger’s den the chains were hot

With loathing I felt from all the hate

That grounded me to hunger more

I thank my stars in many ways

That lent me a hand in the hour of need

To keep the music burning alive

Feeding the hearth with kindle wood of hope

With vision so wide I see it all now

That life is rich with fertile offerings

If only we knew our right to the table

We would despair in tune with our lucky stars

Please take a look at my book here.

Image credit: Pixabay

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

