Skip to content

A Rude Awakening (Original Poem )

November 24, 2016

 

Image credit: http://betsyharveyinc.com/why-you-may-need-a-rude-awakening/

Written by @linzo

Striding warily under my weight

I tend to my bleeding feet, pussy with blisters

Frail body laboring, small steps home

Making each little step count to a giant leap

Patience my only guidance to the post

 

Journey riddled with obstacles

Navigating them with pure presence

Yesterday a distant memory

Tomorrow only in my imagination

Forced to watch what is in front of me

 

Beauty unfolding, curiosity adorned

Child like intrigue harnessed

Heart takes the leading role

In a beautiful play called life

Experience taking center stage

 

Repetition becomes a revolving door

As I seek safety in familiarity

Transient in a fleeting moment

Waters of change stirring up my comfort

Waking me up from my slumber

Enjoyed the poem? Please check out my book.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

