Skip to content

Can Selfishness help you remember who you are?

February 16, 2011

Who are you? In the world of the relative, we determine ourselves by what we are not. Say for example; if you are not tall you are short. But what if we could go inside and just be regardless of what was going on outside us. I mean people will always be people; some are angry, happy, sad or depressed. And we change relatively depending on who we are dealing with at the time. Could you just be you regardless of who or what you are dealing with? Remember, it is not the circumstances; it is how you react to them that determines who we are and who we want to become.

So can change who we really are?

We are always striving to become more than what we already are. In the world of media and advertising, we are always reminded that we can become more by using and having the latest gargets, accessories or even surgery. From mobile phones to fat burning machines- we often get lost in this world thinking that what we need is outside us in people or materials other than ourselves. But what if I told you that you have all you need and you just have to remember it. Who you really are is your joy, love and happiness. Remembering that which you are takes putting aside that which you have become as a result external gratification.

Become self centred in your ways; why? Because as I have discovered, you can never love anyone however much you tried without loving yourself. I used to be in a marriage where I had gotten the idea that by giving my partner what he wanted; I was loving.  I completely forgot myself and lived in worry of improving his expectation. The result was total RESENTMENT. I started to look forward to being away from home and my partner. But who started this whole thing? I did. Who suffered? I did. My only rescue came in the form of meditation where I learnt to silence my thoughts and get to a place where I can just be me. Yes, we can all come to a place where we can claim ourselves back and be who we really are.

There is no denying that it is hard to just be in a very busy media oriented world. Your goal is to claim yourself back from whoever you have become. Remember to be gentle with yourself as it took time to get where you are now. But do not despair for it is possible. We have a free meditation track, a self- help library and audio of the Science of getting Rich to get you started on your journey. Visit www.innermagnet.com for more information.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

